Zucchini

We have a garden. A mighty big one at that. This is our third year for a garden, and each year my husband gets more ambitious. Now my idea of the perfect garden is one where I can walk outside at around 4:30, look to see what is ripe, pick it, and then figure out how to serve it for dinner. Matt’s idea of the perfect garden is one where he grows lots of things and then I put them up. Last year I canned green beans, made salsa, and froze zucchini and squash.

This year I will not be freezing zucchini and squash in their natural forms. It gets too watery and mushy for me — even for use in soups and stews. Instead I am freezing zucchini and squash in the form of breads and cakes!

chocolate zucchini bread

I told my husband about my plan. I don’t think he was too keen on it. But I pulled a number of packages out of the freezer from last year and threw them out. I just hate to waste. Breads and cakes are perfect items to take to someone as a gift or as a part of a meal. And I’d never let bread or cake go to waste.

Leave a Reply

