First Tomato

Every year, my dad and I compete for bragging rights on which garden will produce the season’s first tomato.  This year I lost.  My dad and I are pretty competitive, so when he texted me a picture of his first tomato on a luscious looking BLT, I responded with this picture off the Internet:

perfect tomatoes

I just couldn’t help myself.  A few days later, Matt pulled our first tomato.  I have to say, it was a beauty.

first tomato

And while I am a huge fan of BLT’s, I decided this tomato was called for something extra special.  We love caprese salads — even my 7 year old.  But this couldn’t be any ordinary caprese salad.  I found this recipe for a stacked caprese salad, which inspired my version:

caprese salad

I blanched some asparagus in salted boiling water for one minute.  Then placed them in an ice bath.  After patting the asparagus dry, I lined a few up and then topped them with a slice of fresh mozzarella, my beautiful tomato, basil from my herb garden, balsamic vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, course salt, and freshly cracked black pepper.  It was simple and delicious.  It was the perfect way to use my first tomato.

Since then, we’ve picked several more.  And I have one on my counter that is waiting for a luscious BLT.

 

2 thoughts on “First Tomato

Leave a Reply

