Roasted Okra

I have a love/hate relationship with our garden.  I hate that it refuses to follow a set schedule.  Getting ready to leave for vacation?  Sorry, here’s two 5 gallon buckets of purple hull peas.  Just get back after being gone for a week?  I’ve got a 5 gallon bucket of tomatoes for you.  Oh, did you just finish making marinara out of those tomatoes?  Now I’ve got this for you…..

purple hulls in bucket

BUT, here’s the part I love about having a garden.  After being gone for a week and having not been to the grocery for two weeks, I can take these ingredients from our garden:

ingredients for caprese chicken dinner

Add chicken from the freezer.  And turn all that into this:

caprese chicken dinner

The big find for this dinner was roasted okra.  I’ve really taken to roasting lots of vegetables — from green beans to Brussels sprouts to turnips.  I love the flavor they develop by being roasted.  Here’s how I made our okra:

  • Washed the okra and cut the tops off
  • Toss them with olive oil, sea salt, and freshly cracked black pepper
  • Placed them on a foil-lined cookie sheet and roasted them at 450 degrees for 15 minutes

Depending on what you are roasting, you can add a variety of dried herbs.  Potatoes are delicious diced, tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper, and herbs de Provence.  I love doing root vegetables and adding dried rosemary, thyme, oregano, and basil.  A few tips — the time varies depending on what you are roasting.  Also, if you are roasting several different vegetables, be sure to cut them all the same size.  Finally, be careful what you roast together.  Once I added asparagus to root vegetables.  They came out rather charred.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

