Pickled Beets

When I was a child, I remember my mom eating pickled beets.  I tried them once.  Ewwww.  But turns out that I actually like beets; I just don’t like anything pickled.  Period.

Last year Matt planted a few beets, and we enjoyed them roasted and on salads.  But this year he planted a bunch of beets, and last Saturday he stated, “I want to make pickled beets.”  “But we can’t can on our flat top stove,” I replied.  (That’s an excuse I tend to use often.)  Matt was determined and researched pickling beets.  It seems that you don’t need to do it in a canner.  All you have to do is process them in a hot water bath.  Sigh.  And so we pickled beets last Sunday afternoon.

It’s a time-consuming task, and one that I wasn’t too excited about given that I wouldn’t be enjoying the fruits of my labor.  But I do love that man.  And the things I do for him…..

We used this recipe from allrecipes.com.

We started by boiling the beets and then letting them cool.

cooked whole beets

Matt did most of the peeling, and I was very thankful for that.

Matt peeling beets

Here they are finished and ready to go into jars.

peeled and sliced beets

I put them in the jars, added the hot brine, and got them ready for their bath.

beets in jars

And after doing them in 2 batches, here they are.

beets finished

I went outside after I was done.  When I came back in, the smell burned my nose.  We had that lovely scent lingering for a few days.  But I always learn a few lessons from a new adventure like this so here are my 3 takeaways.  First, there wasn’t nearly enough brine.  I reserved double the beet water, and it was a good thing.  I had to make a second batch of brine to make sure all the jars had enough.  Second, Matt said they were delicious but a bit al dente for him.  If you like your vegetables on the softer side, I suggest cooking them a bit longer.  Third, they said that it would take 50 minutes.  Ha.  It took us 3 hours.  That doesn’t include the time it took me to clean up the mess.  And what a mess there was.

 

 

Leave a Reply

