More Zucchini, More Baking

Gray and I visited my parents this past weekend. My mom, who currently has her right arm wrapped from finger tips to armpit, asked me if I would help her out in the kitchen. Let’s see, cook and bake all day Saturday? If I must.

She had two incredibly large zucchini that she needed to do something with, so I shredded them.

shredded zucchini

Then started offering up options. First, I made two loaves of zucchini bread. My mom uses the recipe below. It’s from a cookbook that she’s had forever – so long in fact that the thing is discolored, stained, and about to fall apart.  But this zucchini bread recipe has stood the test of time.

3 eggs, slightly beaten
1 cup oil
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour
2 cups shredded zucchini
1 cup chopped nuts (my mom likes pecans)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix well. Pour into two greased bread pans and bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes depending on the size of your pans. I added a bag of chocolate chips, and they turned out beautifully.

chocolate chip zucchini bread

But we still had a bunch of shredded zucchini, so I made a second batch of bread and this time I added a bag of white chocolate chips. They also turned out beautifully and were so incredibly moist. I couldn’t wait to try a slice.

Still more zucchini, so I suggested zucchini brownies. I used this recipe from allrecipes.com. Oh my goodness. These brownies were fantastic – so rich and fudgy.

zucchini brownie

No one would have guessed that they were made with a vegetable. We had them for dessert after dinner. My sister and her family were there, and we managed to demolish over half the pan.

Kaysie eating brownie

When I was done making a mess in her kitchen, she said she wanted me to take a loaf of bread along with some brownies home as a little thank you. OK – if you insist. I wanted that loaf with the white chocolate chips. I was so looking forward to cutting into it when I got home. About 30 minutes into the drive home I realized I had forgotten both. Sigh.  So I checked our garden when we got home.  No zucchini.  Bigger sigh.

Leave a Reply

