Special Cupcakes

My 7-year-old son has a fairly sophisticated palette. He asks for seconds of Brussel sprouts, artichokes, and parsnips. He can tell when someone is trying to pass off fake mashed potatoes. He can taste the difference in homemade meatballs and frozen store-bought meatballs. His favorite meals at age 3 were chicken pot pie and chicken and rice. But he’s still 7. And I find myself being surprised and offended when I made a dessert like this:

reeses cake

And he says, “No thank you. Can I have one of those muffin things instead?”

hostess box

Ugh. Prepackaged Hostess cupcakes. I’d like to thank my mom for introducing Gray to those things.

I cannot be outdone. So today when Gray got home from school, I had a surprise waiting for him. We made our own homemade version! We put on our aprons and got started.

Now I will admit that I did use a cake mix for the cupcakes. Seriously, he is 7. He doesn’t care if I make the cake from scratch. Only I care about that. But realistically he’d lose interest quickly if I didn’t speed things up a bit. He’s only in it for the eating part.

After they cooled, we poked holes in the tops with the end of a wooden spoon.
poking holes cupcakes

Then filled them with this mixture:

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
3/4 cup Marshmallow Fluff
1 1/2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon heavy cream

filling cupcake holes

Then dipped them in some chocolate ganache, let them set, and used some of the filling to make the little swirl.

single completed hostess cupcake

A very happy and impressed 7-year-old.

Gray removing paper off cupcake

Gray biting into cupcake

Gray licking fingers cupcake

“You’re the best mom EVER,” he says. Yes, I know. Score one for mom.

completed cupcakes

 

2 thoughts on “Special Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

