Fun Time Friday

If Saturday night is ‘put on the dog’, then Friday night is ‘fun time.’ We typically do something fun like play games or watch a movie.  Dinner also has to be fun.  For instance, last night we made tacos. And what about dessert?  Well, more fun stuff.  This week’s big adventure was a twist on homemade Oreos.

Given that I am gooey person, not a crunch person, I decided to use brownie in the place of the cookie. I made a batch of brownies using Hershey’s best brownie recipe. I used Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa to get that deep brown color for the cookie part, and I didn’t add the pecans. While they were cooling, I made the filling by mixing:

2/3 cup softened butter
5 cups powder sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
5 tablespoons heavy cream (This is an estimate. Add a little at a time until you get the desired consistency.)

I got everything situated and called in my assistant. Using two different sizes of cookie cutters, we cut out the circles. Then I sliced them in half, placed some filling on the bottom half, and put on the top making a sandwich.   We completed the first one, and Gray shoved it in his mouth as he cut out the next cookie.

brownie oreos 1

brownie oreos 2

brownie oreos 3

These things are delicious but I learned a lesson. If I make them again, I would either cut the brownie recipe in half and still bake in a 9×13 or use a full recipe but bake it on a jelly roll pan so that the brownies would be thinner. That way I wouldn’t have to slice them in half. They were so soft and gooey that they kept falling apart. Then I stopped cutting them in half and just used two cut outs, which made them mega cookies.

brownie oreos 4

Normal Size

brownie oreos 5

Mega Size

But this adventure created a little dilemma. What to do with the brownie pieces? Make candy bar brownie truffles, of course!  It’s a terrible dilemma, but what’s a girl to do?

brownie truffles 1

brownie truffles 2

brownie truffles 3

brownie truffles 4

brownie truffles 5

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

