Homemade Candy Bars

Sometimes when I sit in the car rider line waiting to pick Gray up, I fill my mind with good stuff by reading an educational book. Other times Pinterest gets the best of me, and I fill my mind with junk…..food. On a recent visit to Pinterest during car rider line, I discovered – wait for it – homemade 3 Musketeer bars using only three ingredients. And as luck would have it, I had all three ingredients in my cabinet!

3 musketeer 1

Gray and I came home and did our normal routine – snack, homework, reading, play, and then I said “OK buddy, I need to make dinner.” Translation: Matt was traveling, I was heating up soup that was in the refrigerator, and I had a plan. A plan to make 3 Musketeer bars.

These things were super simple.

Step one – melt approximately 6 ounces of milk chocolate, spread into a parchment lined bread pan, and let harden.

3 musketeer 2

Step two – combine 2/3 cup Nutella and a 7 ounce jar marshmallow fluff. Place in the microwave for about 30 seconds to loosen up, and stir to combine. I recommend using a larger bowl than what I did.

3 musketeer 3

Step three – pour the mixture over the chocolate and place in the refrigerator to harden. I think I left it for a good 30 minutes.

Step four – melt the remaining milk chocolate. Cut the slab into pieces and dip. Once they are all dipped, place them back in the fridge to harden.

3 musketeer 7

I waited somewhat patiently. I couldn’t wait to try one. I ate a homemade one first. Delicious! Then I decided to do a taste comparison, so I ate a mass-produced one. I actually think the homemade version is better. The inside is still light and fluffy but slightly denser than the store-bought one. And obviously the chocolate coating is much thicker, but the chocolate on the Mars version wasn’t as creamy – it was actually sort of waxy.

3 musketeer 8

But here’s the true test –

3 musketeer 9

Score another one for mom.  He loves them too.

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Candy Bars

Leave a Reply

