Carnitas Tacos

I mentioned in a past post that “putting on the dog” no longer needs to be a difficult meal, it just needs to be new.  I rarely use my slow cooker, and I don’t really know why.  But this past Saturday I pulled it out, and here’s why:

tree house

Gray and I pestered Matt relentlessly about revamping the old tree house that the previous owners had built.  It worked.  He spent last weekend tearing it down to bare-bones, and he spent this weekend redesigning and rebuilding.  I decided that it might be a nice idea help out given my role in creating this big job.  So instead of spending the afternoon in the kitchen, I loaded up the slow cooker Saturday morning with this recipe for beef carnitas tacos and tried to be helpful.  I’m not exactly sure how helpful I was.

This was one of the easiest dinners I’ve made in a long time.  The meat took care of itself.  I pulled it out of the slow cooker around 6 p.m., shredded it, and put it back in with a little bit of the liquid it produced while cooking.  Then I made this super-quick copycat Chipolte corn salsa, set up a taco bar, and called the boys in.

carnitas tacos 1

I was also pleased that I was able to use three items from our garden — green peppers, jalapeno peppers, and tomatoes.  It was a tasty and fun meal, and it would make a fantastic weeknight dinner.  Matt also said the meat was even better at lunch the next day.

carnitas tacos 2

And those of you that know me will be super-surprised by this.  I even took the easy route on dessert by letting Gray pick out cupcakes from GiGi’s.  I really was serious about trying to be helpful.

GiGis cupcake

2 thoughts on “Carnitas Tacos

Leave a Reply

