Cinnamon Raisin Bread

Sometimes I get on a kick, and I make something over and over — to the point where I make my family sick of it.  That’s where this recipe comes in .  I used to make cinnamon raisin bread quite regularly, so regularly that at some point Matt gave me the “I’m sick of eating this talk”.  I stopped making it.  A few weekends ago, when I was digging through some old paper recipes that still hadn’t made it to the iPad, I ran across the cinnamon raisin bread recipe.  I took it as a sign.

The recipe is by Ellie Krieger and was posted in an issue of The Food Network Magazine.  Ellie Krieger is known for healthy cooking and eating, so I was thrilled when I found the recipe. I figured if she was sharing it, I’d go ahead and consider it health food.  The first time I made it, Matt informed me that the cinnamon sugar swirl wasn’t nearly as substantial as it ought to be.  So I will admit that while I follow the bread portion of the recipe exactly, I might add more brown sugar, cinnamon, and raisins than what Ellie suggests.  Here’s my adventure in picture form.

cinnamon raisin 1

cinnamon raisin 2

cinnamon raisin 3

cinnamon raisin 4

cinnamon raisin 5

cinnamon raisin 6

The best way to eat it is warm – right out of the oven with real butter.  It was as good as I remembered.  But don’t worry family, I won’t forget the “I’m sick of eating this talk.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

