Sloppy Joe Stuffed Peppers

I walked into the kitchen Sunday afternoon to find this:

3 buckets of beans

The fall crop that Matt planted was coming in.  Yipee.  I was not prepared for this, so it has turned into a three-day affair.  Sunday night Matt and Gray helped shell purple peas.  They are in the refrigerator waiting for tomorrow night’s dinner.  Yesterday we all worked on breaking green beans at various times during the day.  Then around 5:00 I started washing, blanching, and freezing them.  Then I moved on to the 4 dozen jalapeno and banana peppers.

Today is Tuesday, and I still have these:

green and red peppers

I need a quick and easy dinner tonight, so searched for a quick way to make stuffed peppers and found this recipe on Pinterest.  Here’s how I went about making mine in slightly over 30 minutes.

I washed, cored, and halved 5 peppers.  Then I placed them in a 9×13 pan that was sprayed with non-stick spray.  I stuck them in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for 15 minutes to soften them.

While the peppers cooked in the oven, I made a cup of instant brown rice and browned a pound of ground beef with 1/2 a chopped onion.  Then I stirred in a can of Manwich sauce and the cooked rice.

I pulled the peppers from the oven, filled them with the meat mixture and topped them with provolone cheese.  I placed them back in the oven for another 15 minutes.

sloppy joe peppers

Peppers and green beans from our garden.  Beef from his uncle’s cow.  Homemade and homegrown.  It makes my husband happy.

Leave a Reply

