Peanut Butter Cup Cake

Last Christmas, we celebrated the holiday with Matt’s side of the family at his sister’s house. Amy is such a great hostess. She always has a yummy spread of food, her house is decorated festively, and she makes you feel so at home. So at home, in fact, that sometimes I think we stay too long.

Now I can’t even begin to tell you what we had for our meal that night or even what I brought. That’s because dessert stole the show. Amy purchased a delicious chocolate peanut butter cup cake from a local bakery. Actually delicious isn’t even the word for it…..it was phenomenal.

I simply had to recreate it. I was like a woman possessed. I searched high and low and found a recipe on dessertrecipes180.com that rivals ‘the Christmas cake’ — moist chocolate cake, peanut butter buttercream, Reese’s peanut butter cups, chocolate ganache……Seriously, a couple of days after Christmas I was baking it.

I am embarrassed to say that this is the third time I’ve made this cake. The first time as an experiment. The second time for guests. This time solely for a blog post. Shameful. Even more shameful because Matt and Gray both think it is too peanut buttery……so I am forced to give much of it away lest I consume an entire cake myself.

Here are some photos I took along the way.

pb cup cake 1

I baked the cakes and let them cool.  While they were cooling, I made the buttercream, chopped the peanut butter cups, made the ganache, and assembled my station.

pb cup cake 2

Start with a cake layer, spread on some peanut butter buttercream, top with chopped peanut butter cups, and repeat.

pb cup cake 3

It makes a beautiful presentation.  It smells very peanut buttery.  And it weighs a ton.

pb cup cake 6

I chose a day when Matt and Gray were gone to make it.  I thoroughly enjoyed the process.  I ran 7 miles that morning to justify the sin.  I had a healthy dinner of broiled salmon and sautéed spinach.  And then I had that piece of cake.  And it was phenomenal.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cup Cake

Leave a Reply

