Milky Way Bars

I’ve been baking up a storm lately.  That’s because Matt has decided that he wants to give a cookie bag to every single one of his employees.  More on that later.  As a part of this baking bonanza, I’ve tried a few new to me recipes.  Gray and I loved the homemade 3 Musketeer Bars so much that I decided to give homemade Milky Way Bars a try for these bags.  I used this recipe from backforseconds.com.

I seriously cannot begin to put into words how good these things are.  Gray agreed.  I’ve never seen him close his eyes while eating a treat before.

Milky way - gray eating

And while they were delicious, they weren’t all that pretty.  When I cut the slab into bite size pieces to dip in melted chocolate, the caramel sort of shifted.  You can see that in this photo:

milky way - bite

Next time I will let them firm up more before cutting.  One note on the original recipe — I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips and thinned it a bit with some melted Crisco.  In order to get them to set up, I put them in the refrigerator for a few minutes.  I find that candy melts or candy coating can sometimes have an artificial taste.  So given this was a copycat of a candy bar, I wanted to use a better quality milk chocolate.

My original plan was to include these in with Matt’s cookie bags.  I decided I simply couldn’t part with them.  It looks like I’ll be making another batch….or perhaps a double batch.

2 thoughts on “Milky Way Bars

Leave a Reply

