Homemade Marshmallows

Sometimes I impress myself.  That didn’t come out the way I meant it.  It’s just for the longest time I’ve wanted to make marshmallows, but I thought they were a difficult and time-consuming task.  Not so!  They are actually super easy thanks to this recipe by Alton Brown.

If you decide to give these a try, just click on the link above for the recipe but read my ‘lessons learned’ first — and there are quite a few.

1.  Three packages of unflavored gelatin does not mean three boxes.  How was I supposed to know?  I’ve never purchased gelatin before.  Each box contains four packets.  One box will do just fine.

2.  It takes way more than 8 minutes to get your sugar mixture to 240 degrees.  As my dad would say – ‘patience is our greatest virtue’ here.

3.  Make sure your mixer is in good condition.  My Kitchen-Aid stand mixer is a number of years old, and 12 minutes on high had the old girl overheated and sluggish.

4.  This stuff is REALLY sticky.  I got it all over my mixer.  Then I had a glob I was trying to get off the spatula, so I used my finger.  It just went down hill from there.  Spray your hands and your spatula liberally with non-stick spray.  And don’t even try to get all of it out of your bowl.  It’s just not going to happen.

5.  Use a pizza cutter sprayed with non-stick spray to cut the slab into pieces.

6.  Save the leftover confectioner sugar/cornstarch concoction.  After you cut the pieces, you will need to sprinkle the freshly cut edges with this stuff or they will stick together.

Here are a few highlights from my big adventure:

marshmallows 1

marshmallows 2

marshmallows 3

marshmallows 4

marshmallows 5

But here’s the best picture of all, and the biggest reason I wanted to make homemade marshmallows:

hot chocolate with marshmallows

I LOVE hot chocolate, especially this time of year.  And my Godiva hot chocolate was screaming for a Godiva hot chocolate worthy topping.

Leave a Reply

