Brownie in a Mug

I am always in awe of people who can just come up with creative concoctions.  I can take a recipe and tweak it to suit my taste, but I can’t really think of a time when I just created something completely new.  I’ve seen these brownie in a mug recipes floating around for a while, but never considered giving them a shot.  After all, making a brownie in a microwave just seemed a bit like cheating.

But Matt and Gray were gone, and I wanted a warm brownie with ice cream.  I didn’t want to bake a pan and then have them go to waste.  I gave it a shot, and oh my goodness — I’d like to kiss the person that created this brownie in a mug thing.  Absolutely genius!

Here’s how I did it:

Mixed a pinch of salt, 4 tablespoons sugar, 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa, and 4 tablespoons AP flour in a coffee mug

brownie in a mug

Stirred in 2 tablespoons melted butter, 2 tablespoons water, and a dash of vanilla

brownie in a mug 2

Cooked in the microwave for 1 minute, 15 seconds on full power

brownie in a mug 3

Topped with coffee chocolate chip ice cream

brownie in a mug 4

Dove in

brownie in a mug 5

Holy cow.  This thing was fantastic!  And the perfect size for one.

So if you know anything about me, then you know I cannot simply have a regular brownie…..I have to ‘Barbify’ things.  I started thinking and searching, and I stumbled across this:

A Reese’s Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug

I know what I’ll be having tomorrow night.

 

Leave a Reply

