Reese’s Spread Cookies

I believe the best flavor combination in the world is chocolate and peanut butter.  I regularly scan blogs and Pinterest for chocolate peanut butter recipes.  And if a new chocolate peanut butter product comes on the market, it is guaranteed that I will purchase it.

So one day while on Twitter, I saw a tweet that included a link to this recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Cookies.  The link led me to a lovely cookie-related story but the thing that really caught my attention was a photo of this:

Reeses Spread

I had no idea this product was on the market.  How did I not see it?  How long had I been missing out?  Instantly I was on a mission — I simply had to have a jar of this stuff.  And just a few days later, I had that jar in my grubby little hands.  I was simply giddy.

My giddiness was short-lived.  It wasn’t chunky.  It wasn’t creamy.  It was gritty.  While the flavor was enjoyable, the texture was weird.  It was almost like they mixed sand in.  Sigh.  Disappointment.  I wouldn’t be making any chocolate peanut butter and banana sandwiches with this stuff.  But I had an entire jar (minus a small spoonful).  What was I going to do with it?  Oh yes — the cookies:

Reeses Spread Cookies

The cookies are delicious.  Thankfully the grittiness disappears into the cookie dough.  Plus, they are stuffed with peanut butter, the Reese’s spread, chocolate chips, M&M’s, and mini peanut butter cups.  That’s definitely a ‘Barbified’ recipe if I ever saw one.

I give a glowing endorsement to the cookies.  But if texture is an issue to you, I suggest you avoid the spread.  Looks like I’ll be searching for more recipes to use up the rest of my spread and sticking with regular peanut butter for my sandwiches.

 

One thought on “Reese’s Spread Cookies

Leave a Reply

