Mushroom Marsala Roast

Matt’s uncle has a farm roughly an hour south of us, fairly close to the Alabama state line.  Larry raises cattle, and a few years ago Matt happened to be there when Larry was working the herd.  Matt helped with the vaccines and such and came home telling me about this one ornery cow, which they dubbed “Crazy 42”, that gave them fits.  If you’re wondering why 42, that was the cow’s ear tag number.  Larry gave us some ground beef from “Crazy 42”, and we’ve had this running joke about beef here ever since.

Matt and Gray picked up some meat from “Crazy 44”, the third cow we’ve gotten from Larry, this morning.  Knowing this was arriving, I took stock last week of what was left from “Crazy 43” – just a few roasts.  I don’t know why, but I’m pretty uninspired by roast.  I’ve made some delicious roasts in the past, many of which make Matt’s ‘some day if I own a restaurant this will be on the menu’ list.  But for whatever reason, I don’t find myself wanting to make them again.

Last Saturday’s “puttin’ on the dog” meal featured a roast from “Crazy 43” — a Mushroom Marsala Roast, along with Chive Mashed Potatoes and Roasted Green Beans.  I feel like I cheated.  This thing was so easy.

Around 8:00 last Saturday morning, I put the following in the crock pot:

  • A 3 pound shoulder roast
  • Sprinkled it with garlic salt, kosher salt, and pepper
  • Placed a pound of sliced button mushrooms on top
  • Tossed in 4 cloves of minced garlic
  • Added a sprig of rosemary and a 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • Covered all of that with 1/2 cup Marsala wine and 1 cup beef stock

I left it on low all day.  When it was time to eat, removed about a cup or so of the broth and placed it in a sauce pan.  I brought it to a low boil and stirred in a cornstarch/water mixture so that I could thicken it a bit.

mushroom marsala roast

For the life of me I don’t know how I stumbled on to the blog that featured this recipe, but I am so happy that I did.  Not only did we have a most delicious dinner, I’ve also found a new source for recipes!  And there are a slew of them.  Happy day.

Oh, I failed to mention dessert.  It’s a cookie.  No it’s a cake.  It’s a chocolate chip peanut butter cookie cake.  And it too was most delicious.

chocolate peanut butter cookie cake

Leave a Reply

