Creamy Mushroom and Wild Rice Soup

Matt has always been a fan of Seinfeld, and one of his favorite characters on the show is the Soup Nazi.  On occasion, I’ve made a soup so good that it gets a Soup Nazi nod.  This is one of those soups.

It requires an ‘exotic’ ingredient, by Columbia, Tennessee standards — an ounce of dried mushrooms.  As luck would have it, we live slightly closer to Spring Hill, and they have a nice Kroger, which is where I do the majority of my shopping.  They many times carry those sorts of more ‘exotic’ ingredients that the Kroger in Columbia doesn’t.  That was until recently.  On my last visit I went to get the dried mushrooms only to discover they no longer carry them.  Apparently I was the only customer purchasing said item.

Panic.  The dried mushrooms are the reason why this soup is so delicious.  They pack so much flavor, and there really isn’t a suitable substitute for them.  I went to another Kroger on the north side of Spring Hill, and they only had one, half ounce package of dried shiitake mushrooms left.  A half ounce is better than none, so I purchased them.  My next option was to drive up to Franklin, which I didn’t want to have to do with Gray in tow.  His patience for these sorts of things is quite low.

Score.  It was just as delicious with only half — and I saved myself $5.  I think I failed to mention that they are $5-7 a half ounce, depending on what kind you buy.  BUT don’t leave them out!

Creamy Mushroom and Wild Rice Soup from Everyday with Rachael Ray

  • 1 ounce dried mushrooms, any variety (a half ounce is just as delicious)
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6 carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 1 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage (I use 1 tablespoon dried when I don’t have fresh)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 6 ounce box long-grain and wild rice mix
  • 3/4 pound white mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 skinless, boneless chicken breast (I use 2)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions

  1. Soak the dried mushrooms in 1 cup chicken broth for 10 minutes, then coarsely chop.  Reserve both the mushrooms and broth.
  2. In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the carrots, onion, and sage and cook until crisp-tender, roughly 5 minutes. Add the rehydrated mushrooms and broth.  Cook roughly 1 minute.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Add the remaining 5 cups broth, the rice mix, and sliced mushrooms and bring to a boil. Add the chicken breasts, lower the heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the rice is tender and the chicken breasts are cooked through, about 25 minutes. Transfer the chicken to a plate and shred; return to the pot. Stir in the heavy cream; season with salt and pepper and simmer for about 5 minutes.

creamy chicken wild rice mushroom soup

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

