Gooey Peanut Butter S’more Brownies

I love peanut butter almost as much as I love chocolate.  My friend, Barb Boyette, knows me awfully well, and she gave me this cookbook a number of years ago:

skippy cookbook

I’ve made lots of really tasty things from this cookbook over the years — all of them good (after all they all have peanut butter, so how could they not be good?) and some of them great.  My favorite recipe by far, and my mom’s favorite recipe too, is the one for the Gooey Peanut Butter S’more Brownies.

Now first let me say that there is nothing sophisticated or complex about this recipe.  It even calls for using a box brownie mix (I’m shocked).  But there is something about the combination of flavors that drives me (and my mom) crazy.  Of course I had to go and ‘Barbify’ the recipe.  If you’d like to see it as written, click here.  If you want to make them even more gooey and disgusting, then follow the instructions below.

Brownies (the Baker’s One Bowl Brownie recipe, slightly modified)

  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Heat your oven to 350°F.  Line a 9×13 pan with foil and spray the foil with non-stick spray.  Melt the chocolate and butter in a pan over low heat, stirring until completely melted.  Stir in sugar.  Let it cool slightly then blend in eggs and vanilla.  Stir in flour and then chocolate chips.  Pour into the pan.  Bake 30-35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center comes out with fudgy crumbs.  Don’t overbake!

Remaining ingredients:

2  – 7 ounce jars of marshmallow fluff

1 – 16 ounce jar of crunchy peanut butter

1 can chocolate frosting

First, spread the marshmallow fluff evenly over the cooled brownies.  Next, melt the peanut butter in the microwave (usually I put it in there for around one minute) and then pour it over the fluff making sure you completely cover the fluff layer.  Finally, microwave the frosting until melted (again around one minute) and pour it over the peanut butter, covering it completely.

Place them in the refrigerator for a couple of hours to set.  If you don’t, all the goop will slide down and fill in the empty space in the pan.  I keep these in the refrigerator so that all the stuff on top stays in place but they are best served at room temperature.

gooey pb smore brownies 2

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

