Snickers Cookies

Gray and I went to visit my parents a few weeks ago.  It was President’s Day weekend, Gray was out of school Monday, and Matt was traveling.  It seemed like the perfect time.  Only when we arrived, my mom told me there was a winter storm coming.  I debated — do I go home and risk being stuck out in the middle of nowhere with no power or do I stay with my parents and risk Gray missing school if Tennessee wasn’t impacted?

I decided to stay.  I’m so glad I did.  Tennessee got ice, and school was canceled all week.  My parents got 9″ of snow, and Gray got to go sledding for the first time.  He had a blast.

sledding 2015 2

But now I was at my parents house with a hankering for freshly baked cookies.  “Bake away,” my mom tells me, “but you have to take the leftovers home with you.”  Ok, if you insist.  I raided my mom’s cabinets, searched for ideas, and came up with these bad boys:

snickers cookie

Snickers cookies.  Averie cooks strikes again.  Have I mentioned that she has an excellent cookie recipe index?  Of course I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t ‘Barbify’ the recipe.

Loaded Snickers Cookies

  • 3/4 cup softened unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 bag of Snickers mini’s, chopped
  • 1 bag milk chocolate chips
  • 1 bag Kraft caramel bits
  • 1 bag fun-size Snickers

Cream butter, sugars, egg, and vanilla until light and fluffy — approximately 5 minutes.  Add in the dry ingredients and blend until combined.  Stir in the chopped Snickers, chocolate chips, and caramel bits.

Now here comes the important part, but unfortunately I didn’t take photos.  So I am using photos from another batch of cookies (I tend to use this technique often) to demonstrate.  Measure out 4-5 ounces of dough.  Flatten out half of it, then place the fun-size snickers bar on top.  (Because you can never have too much chocolate.)

stuffing cookie

Then squish the remaining dough over the candy bar, forming a ball.  Don’t you just love my technical terms?

stuffed cookie

Place the dough balls in the freezer for an hour.  Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 10-12 minutes.  Check after 10 minutes.  The time will vary depending on your oven and how well done you like your cookies.

I didn’t place this batch in the freezer, which lead to flat but nonetheless deliciously loaded cookies.

snickers cookie 2

I will definitely make these again.  Besides freezing the dough before baking, I might experiment with adding a bit more flour.  Everyone has their own preference as to what makes the perfect cookie.  Mine?  Fat, thick cookies loaded with chocolate.

The original recipe can be found on my cookie hero’s site averiecooks.com.

2 thoughts on “Snickers Cookies

Leave a Reply

