Flat Iron Steak and Roasted Garlic Potatoes

I love cookbooks.  Most people like to sit down with a good book.  I like to sit down with a good cookbook.  I love to peruse the pages, dreaming about when I might get to make choice recipes.

Ten plus years ago, I discovered the Food Network.  (Matt swears it was the best day of his life.)  One show I found rather quickly was Everyday Italian, and it inspired me to get creative in the kitchen.  Shortly after I discovered the show, she published her first cookbook:

cookbook photo

I immediately purchased it, and I have to say that it is by far my most favorite and most used cookbook.  You can tell by the pages, which are both worn and stained.  Here’s a recipe that I make quite often — Roasted Baby Potatoes with Herbs and Garlic.  When we have company or if I’m making a ‘dog’ meal, I follow the recipe as written.  But these things are terrific with any type of potato.  Many times I’ll just use a few baking potatoes from the cabinet.  Here’s how I made the version in the photo that’s below:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon herbs de Provence
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 pounds baking potatoes, cut into 1″ cubes
  • 2 teaspoons coarsely ground sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place the potatoes and garlic on a cookie sheet lined with foil.  Drizzle on the olive oil and sprinkle on the herbs, salt and pepper.  Toss with your hands to make sure the potatoes are all coated, and space them out evenly on the pan in a single layer.  Roast the potatoes in the oven for about 1 hour, turning a couple of times.

These potatoes go with everything — chicken, frittatas, but they are especially good with steak.  Wednesday night, I made Flat Iron Steak with Blue Cheese Chive Butter.  Have you ever made compound butter?  It’s simply butter with some supplementary ingredients mixed in.  Compound butter is quite pretty, especially if made ahead, rolled in a log, and sliced.  Place a disk of this stuff over a piece of steak and watch your guests ooh and aah.  Do it on a Wednesday night like I did, and watch your family ooh and aah.

flat iron steak and potatoes

 

Leave a Reply

