Swiss Chocolate Cake

My friend Bonnie’s sister, Dawn, is famous for this cake.  When I lived in North Carolina, I constantly hinted for one.  But I wasn’t the only one doing that.  Everyone asked Dawn to make this cake for all sorts of occasions — birthdays, church events, obscure holidays, rainy days.  I haven’t had it since moving to Tennessee four years ago.  I thought it was some magical recipe that only Dawn knew.  So imagine my surprise when I stumbled onto it while perusing Pinterest.

I discovered it on a Wednesday.  Three days later I was making it for that week’s ‘Puttin on the dog’ dinner.  Which by the way, dinner included pecan crusted trout, cheesy zucchini rice, and Brussels sprouts with bacon.

pecan crusted trout

But who really cares about that.  Let’s talk about the cake!

Ingredients:

Cake

  • Swiss chocolate cake mix (which I couldn’t find so I used a triple chocolate cake mix)
  • 1 small box of instant vanilla pudding (which I forgot to use)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3/4 cup oil

(So let me just stop here.  I totally failed on this part.  I was so excited to make this cake that I just followed the directions on back of the box.  You know what that means.  I’m just going to have to make it again.)

Here’s what I should have done.  Mix together the cake ingredients listed above.  Bake according to the directions on the box for three layers.  Let cool.

Frosting

  • 8 ounces room temperature cream cheese
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup powder sugar
  • 12 ounces cool whip
  • 4 grated Hershey bars (Of course, I used 6)

Cream together sugar and cream cheese.  Then add the powder sugar.  Fold in the cool whip and chocolate shavings.

Then build your cake.

swiss chocolate cake

Refrigerate until time to serve.  Let it sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes before serving.  And then dive in!

swiss chocolate cake 2

Before you know it, you’ll be making it for every obscure holiday too.

 

Leave a Reply

