Sloppy Joe Potatoes and 3 Musketeers Brownies

Matt is a traditionalist when it comes to dinner.  He wants meat and two sides.  Period.  The other night we grilled chicken sausages and corn on the cob.  “Is this all we are having,” he asked.  I had some sort of smart-mouthed comeback that generated a look, so I made baked beans too.  When he is in town I oblige, but when he’s traveling — look out.  I get crazy and put one thing on the plate — and that’s it.

Granted that one thing is typically an entire meal within itself but still.  If I’d serve this to Matt for dinner one night, imagine the looks I’d get.  But Gray and I are perfectly happy with this one-item dinner:

sloppy joe potatoes

It’s a Sloppy Joe Baked Potato, and it’s delicious.  I found the recipe in The Food Network Magazine.  I can’t begin to tell you which issue, so here’s the link to the recipe.  I modified it slightly to fit my taste.  Since that’s the only thing we have I feel the need to add more than one carrot and one stalk of celery, plus I also like things a bit saucy (no comments, please) so I add more chili sauce.  Here’s how I make it:

  • 4 baking potatoes – baked to your liking
  • Non-stick spray
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2-3 carrots, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup or so ketchup
  • 1/2 cup or so chili sauce
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • Shredded Colby jack cheese
  • 1-2 tablespoons butter

Spray a non-stick pan.  Cook the onion, carrot, and celery over medium high heat, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are tender.  Roughly 7 minutes.  Add the turkey and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper; cook, breaking up the meat, until cooked through. Stir in the ketchup, chili sauce, 1/4 cup water, chili powder, and garlic powder.  Allow to simmer for a couple of minutes.  Split the baked potatoes open lengthwise, dot with butter and gently fluff with a fork. Top with the turkey mixture and sprinkle with cheese while still hot.

No dinner in my home would be complete without dessert.  Let’s just call this a Barb creation.  I am sure there is someone else out there that’s done this before but I didn’t go searching for a recipe.  I just winged it.  Here’s kind of how it went down.  I need a brownie.  Nothing in the freezer struck my fancy.   Nothing I had pinned on Pinterest sounded good.  Oh hey, there are those Milky Way Brownies.  I wonder if I could use the same concept and make a 3 Musketeer Brownie?  Apparently I can:

3 musketeer brownies

Here’s how I did it:

Baked a pan of Baker’s One Bowl Brownies, omitting the nuts and adding a cup of milk chocolate chips, and let them cool.

Mixed 1 1/3 cups of Nutella with a large container of marshmallow fluff, then spread it over the cooled brownies.

Placed 1/2 cup heavy cream in a pan and brought it to a boil.  Removed the pan from the heat and poured in a bag of milk chocolate chips.  Left it alone for 5 minutes.  Then stirred until smooth.  Poured the ganache over the brownies and dotted with chopped 3 Musketeer bars.

Placed the brownies in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes so the ganache could set.  Then Gray and I dug in.  Pretty good if I say so myself.

One thought on “Sloppy Joe Potatoes and 3 Musketeers Brownies

Leave a Reply

