Chicken Bryan

If given the choice, we avoid chain-type restaurants and instead search for locally-owned joints.  If I am to be completely honest, however, there are a few chain restaurants that we often frequent.  First, there’s Chick-fil-a; I have an 8-year-old so there’s no explanation required here.  Then there’s Chipotle; I love big fat burritos, and they by far have the best.  But the chain restaurant I want to talk about in this post is Carrabba’s.

I really do like Carrabba’s.  I love Italian food, and their food is consistently good.  Matt goes to the one in Greensboro fairly regularly, but I haven’t been in quite some time.  He called one night not too long ago to tell me he was there.  I immediately started thinking about my favorite dish — Pollo Rosa Maria.  We hadn’t even ended our conversation, and I was on my iPad searching for copycat recipes.  While I found one, I also found one on food.com for Carrabba’s Chicken Bryan.  I had a dilemma on my hands.  Which one would I make?  The refrigerator chose for me — I had half a package of goat cheese that needed to be used.

Now, I haven’t had Chicken Bryan in quite some time so I cannot tell you if it tastes just like Carrabba’s version.  What I can tell you is this is very, very tasty.  I’d totally make it again.  But be warned — it’s not terribly figure friendly.  The little voice in my head wouldn’t allow me to use all the butter it called for, so I cut the amount of butter in the sauce in half.

Chicken Bryan

  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon minced onion
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2/3 cup cold butter, sliced (I used half this amount)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper
  • 6 boneless skinless chicken breast halves
  • Olive oil for brushing
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 8 ounces goat cheese at room temperature

Saute garlic and onion in 2 tablespoons of butter in a large skillet over medium heat until tender.  Stir in wine and lemon juice.  Increase heat to medium high and simmer until reduced by half.  Reduce heat to low and stir in the cold butter one slice at a time.

Stir in tomatoes, basil, salt, and white pepper.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Brush the chicken with oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Grill chicken until cooked through.

To serve, top each chicken breast with the goat cheese and then spoon over the sauce.

chicken bryan

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Bryan

Leave a Reply

