M&M Peanut Butter Truffles

I really had no business making yet another dessert.  We leave for vacation in just a few days.  What am I going to do with all of these?  But when you read the recipe and see the end result, then you will understand why I couldn’t help myself.  Seriously, all my favorite things wrapped up into one little treat — M&M’s, peanut butter, rolled into a ball, dipped in chocolate.  It’s like she made this recipe with me in mind.  Who is she?  She is Sally from Sally’sBakingAddition.com, and she is an absolute genius.

I saw the recipe yesterday afternoon, and ten minutes later I was softening butter in the microwave.  Here’s how they are made:

M&M Peanut Butter Truffles

  • 1/2 cup unsalted, room temperature butter
  • 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I used crunchy because I’m a crunchy sort of gal.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (Eyeball it — I did.)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt (I added just a dash.)
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup mini M&M’s (You know I added more.)
  • 16 ounces chopped semi-sweet chocolate (I used milk chocolate melting pieces from a candy shop in Evansville that my mom likes to visit.)

Beat the butter until creamy.  Beat in the peanut butter, vanilla, and salt, turn the speed up to high, and beat until creamy.  Add the powdered sugar – 1 cup at a time and beat on low until everything is combined.  She said the mixture is supposed to be a little soft, yet crumbly.  Mine was too crumbly and wouldn’t hold together so I added about a tablespoon of milk and that did the trick.  I used a melon baller to scoop the dough out so that they would all be the same size, but I ended up rolling them into balls with my hands.  Place them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper and place them in the freezer until they are firm.  Once firm, melt the chocolate in the microwave in 30 second increments, stirring after each, until it is smooth.  Dip the balls in the melted chocolate using the two-fork method I’ve mentioned in past blog posts, and place them back on the cookie sheet so that the chocolate can set.

M&M peanut butter balls 2

She says they can be stored in the freezer for up to two months.  I’m counting on that working.  I don’t plan on giving any of these away.

 

 

Leave a Reply

