Loaded Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Recently I watched an episode of The Best Thing I Ever Ate – Chocolate on The Food Network.  In it, Rocco Dispirito went gaga over the Levain Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie, and if you’ve ever had one of their cookies, then you know that they are truly gaga worthy.  But I had to sit there and watch him break apart the cookie — showing how crispy it was on the outside and how gooey it was on the inside — and then devour the entire thing.  What a terrible job he has!

The segment doesn’t even end before I grab my iPad and start searching for copycat recipes.  Of course, I get sidetracked and stumble onto fransfavs.com where she has several Levain copycat recipes.  The one that really catches my attention is the Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookie recipe.  We all know how much I love peanut butter and chocolate, and so I abandon my original mission and make these instead.  Now I’ve still got to make the others.  Tough life.

I’ve included a link above to Fran’s Copycat Recipe for Levain Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies, because of course I made a few adjustments.  I followed her ingredients list until she got to the peanut butter chips part.  There I changed the semi-sweet to milk chocolate chips and also added a bag of Reese’s Mini Peanut Butter Cups.  Then to top it off, I stuffed a full-size Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup inside each ball of dough.  I know.  Don’t say it.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup bread flour
  • 5/8 cup high-quality cocoa powder
  • 5/8 tsp. baking soda
  • 5/8 tsp. salt
  • 1 3/4 sticks unsalted butter, cold, cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 large egg + 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 cup peanut butter chips
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1 small bag Reese’s Mini Peanut Butter Cups
  • 2 packages full-size Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Sift dry ingredients together and set aside.  Beat cold butter until pasty. Add sugars and beat until incorporated. Add vanilla and eggs. Beat just until ingredients are incorporated.  Add dry ingredients and beat just until the flour mixture is incorporated. Add peanut butter chips, milk chocolate chips, and peanut butter cups.  Fold in until evenly distributed.

To assemble, I weigh out 4 ounces of dough.  Flatten half of the dough, place a full-size peanut butter cup on top, then cover with the rest of the dough, making sure it is sealed all the way around.  I’ve done this on several cookie recipes.  To see photos, click here. Place all the cookies on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and freeze for 1-2 hours.

When ready, bake at 350 degrees for roughly 15 minutes.  Keep an eye on them.  The key is to not over bake the cookies so that you get that gooey, brownie-like center.

levain chocolate pb cup cookie

Something I do is only bake a couple, and then leave the rest of the uncooked cookies in a plastic bag in the freezer.  That way I can bake them one at a time and have a freshly baked cookie in 15 minutes anytime I want!

Leave a Reply

