Sugar Cone Chocolate Chip Cookies

Someone recently asked me if I ever get tired of brining dessert.  Never!  It is by far the best and most important part of any meal.  But not only do I regularly get asked to bring dessert, I tend to randomly get assigned the task just by where our last name falls.  It’s like fate wants me to always bring dessert.

Friday night was the Agathos Classical School’s family picnic.  Have I mentioned that Gray started a new school this year?  We are absolutely thrilled — and so is he.  I could get off on a tangent but won’t and will instead stay on task.  They assigned dishes based on last name, and we were assigned dessert — lucky me.  Given that it was outside and there would be lots of kids there, I thought cookies would be a good choice.  Of course, I couldn’t bake any old cookie; I had to make something over-the-top fantastic.  (Folks here don’t know me yet, so I need to work on establishing my reputation.)

I searched for something new and found a recipe from Taste of Home that incorporated pieces of sugar cones and sprinkles.  What kid doesn’t go crazy over sprinkles?  I’ve included a link to the original recipe because, of course, I “Barbified” them.

Sugar Cone Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup of butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups milk chocolate chips
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 2 cups coarsely crushed ice cream sugar cones (about 16)
  • 1 cup sprinkles
  1. Preheat oven to 375°. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. In another bowl, whisk flour, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate chips, crushed sugar cones and sprinkles.
  2. Drop by tablespoonfuls 2 in. apart onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake 8-10 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from pans to cool.

Gray eyed them up while I was baking and begged to sample one.

sugar cone cookies with gray

One turned into four.

sugar cone cookies

I too sampled one (or maybe more) and thought they’d be a big hit.  They were.  I was in the first group of folks to go through the food line, and the plate was empty by the time I got to it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

