Jalapeno Pimento Cheese

When we lived in Greensboro, I was a regular customer at The Fresh Market.  The purchases always varied except for two regular items — freshly ground peanut butter and jalapeno pimento cheese.  I can’t tell you how long its been since I’d had pimento cheese.  A few weeks ago at Kroger, I saw some at the deli so I bought a little.  Not to knock Kroger, but yuck.  It tasted so artificial.

But I kept thinking about pimento cheese.  I wanted some, and as much as I cook and make things from scratch, it never really occurred to me to make pimento cheese.  Until today.  I started searching and found a couple of recipes that looked interesting.  I took suggestions from both to come up with this version.

Jalapeno Pimento Cheese

  • 2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 4 ounce jar of pimento, drained
  • 4 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 4 – 5 ounces plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix it all in a bowl and dig in.

pimento cheese

While I wanted to just slather it on some bread, I didn’t stop there.  I’ll save that for tomorrow.  I remembered seeing a show on The Food Network where a food truck made grilled pimento cheese with bacon and tomato.  I had to try that.

pimento cheese sandwich

It was pretty tasty.  It didn’t have quite as much heat as The Fresh Market version.  I’ll definitely make it again but will more than likely use 2 jalapeno peppers.

One thought on “Jalapeno Pimento Cheese

Leave a Reply

