Caramel Apple Crumble Pie

If it’s not chocolate, I’m typically not interested.  There are, however, exceptions, and this pie is one of them.

Gray is on fall break this week, so he and I went to visit my parents for a few days.  Last week my mom texted me asking if I’d rather have apple pie or apple cobbler.  I wanted to say neither.  All I could think was bleh.  But instead I called explaining if it was this way I’d take it but if it was the other way then I vote for the other.  We came to the decision of an apple pie with a bottom and top crust.  I’ll admit I wasn’t all that excited.

But then I stumbled onto this recipe from averiecooks.com for a Caramel Apple Crumble Pie.  I was intrigued and interested.  Now this was a pie I could be excited about.  I sent my mom a link with the word ‘hint’.

I have the world’s best mom because when we arrived there Friday morning, that lovely pie was sitting on the counter waiting for me.  And oh what a sight it was.  So after dinner I warmed a piece, topped it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and drizzled some caramel sauce over the top.  Wow.  Delicious.  Now I must warn you that I wasn’t planning on writing a blog post about this pie so my picture is less than stellar.

But this pie is beyond words.  It’s a cross between a pie, a crumble, and a dense cake.  It’s incredibly rich, and it weighs a ton!  Finally, a pie that both Matt and I can get excited about.  I’m definitely making this one for us.

 

 

 

 

Caramel Apple Crumble Pie

  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (the original recipe calls for cloves and all spice — two things I don’t like)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup AP flour
  • 3/4 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 – 21 ounce can apple pie filling
  • 1 – 9″ frozen pie crust
  • Caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream for topping

Preheat oven to 350F. Melt the butter and allow to cool momentarily so you don’t scramble the egg; then add the egg, sugars, vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, salt, and whisk to combine until batter is smooth.  Add the flour, oats, and stir to incorporate. Fold in the apple pie filling. Pour mixture into frozen pie crust and lightly smooth filling with a spatula. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, or until top has just set and is not jiggly, and is golden. Allow pie to cool for at least 30 minutes before slicing and serving.  To serve, top with a scoop of ice cream and a drizzle of caramel sauce.

Leave a Reply

