Whatchamacallit Bars

When I lived in North Carolina, I had a friend that I ran with regularly.  Her name is also Barb, and she loves good food too.  The only difference is that she doesn’t really love cooking, so when we lived in North Carolina, I got to feed her and her husband often.  I miss doing that.

Unfortunately I got the chance to feed them again recently.  I say unfortunately because before a recent visit to North Carolina, I found out that she fell a few days prior and broke a rib.  How do I help?  Well I feed people, of course.  So before I headed to North Carolina, I made a pot of soup, a lasagna, and these:

whatchamacallit bars 3The recipe calls them Whatchamacallit Bars.  I just call them tasty.  And so does my sister.  As I was dipping them, she was grabbing the scrap pieces, dipping them in chocolate, and then eating them.  She didn’t even bother to let the chocolate set.

 

 

Here’s how you make them:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup corn syrup
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter chips
  • 6 cups Rice Krispies

Line a 9×13 pan with foil and spray it with non-stick spray.  In a large pan, mix the sugar, corn syrup, and peanut butter.  Let it melt and then stir in the peanut butter chips.  Stir until completely melted.  Then sir in the krispies.  Coat them completely and then press them into the prepared pan.  Allow them to set.  (I let them set on the counter for several hours but the original recipe recommends freezing them for about 10 minutes.)

Place some wax paper onto a cookie sheet.

  • 2 packages of milk chocolate chips
  • Crisco

Melt the chocolate chips and a large spoonful of Crisco in the microwave in 30 second increments, stirring after each time, until melted.  Cut your bars into the sizes you wish, dip them into the melted chocolate, and then place them on the wax paper.  Once they are dipped, then stick the pan in the refrigerator until the chocolate sets.

Just minutes after giving them to her, I got a text saying, “Your bars are awesome!”  It is true.  They are awesome.  I wish I could take credit for coming up with them, but I can only take credit for discovering the recipe and following it.  Thanks hugsandcookiesxoxo.com for sharing the recipe.

Leave a Reply

