Rigatoni with Sausage Tomato Sauce

Periodically, Matt gets on a no-carb kick.  It absolutely kills me, but being the good wife that I am, I make adjustments to our meals.  One morning while at the gym sweating my tail off on the elliptical, The Rachael Ray Show happened to be on.  (There’s something so wrong about working out while watching a food show.)  And wouldn’t you know it, she had several chefs on teaching someone how to make pasta dishes.  Just shoot me now.

My mouth watered as I huffed and puffed.  I could no longer take it.  I had to have pasta.  I apologized to my husband, and he blew his no-carb kick.  Here’s the link to Lidia Bastianich’s Rigatoni with Sausage-Tomato Sauce.  I made some minor adjustments to the recipe when I made it.  Here’s how I did it:

Rigatoni with Sausage Tomato Sauce

  • 1 1/2 pounds mild Italian Sausage
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepperoncino flakes
  • 2 diced zucchini
  • 6 cups crushed tomatoes
  • Handful basil, torn
  • 1 pound rigatoni
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for passing

Pour the EVOO in a skillet.  Brown the sausage and onions.  Then add the garlic, salt, and pepperoncino.  Deglaze the pan with the wine.  Add in the zucchini, tomatoes, a cup of water, and the torn basil.  Bring to a boil.  Lower the heat to simmer and cover the pan with the lid slightly ajar, and allow the sauce to simmer for an hour.

When the sauce is almost ready, cook the rigatoni in salted water according to the package directions.  Drain.  Stir 1-2 cups of the sauce in to the pasta and add the parmesan cheese.  When plating, top with more sauce and sprinkle with more cheese.  You should have some sauce leftover.

Lidias rigatoni

It’s a delicious dish.  I’m certain it was extra-delicious because I was so carb-deprived.

Leave a Reply

