Almond Joy Truffles

I’ve already started my holiday baking extravaganza.  That’s because Matt again wants to give away goodie bags to every single one of his employees.  Fifty+ employees times eight items equals lots of time in the kitchen for me.  Not that I don’t love making treats — I do.  But I feel the time constraints of needing to have these things finished by the beginning of December.

Of course, I cannot stick with all old favorites.  That would be boring.  I’ve got to mix in a few new things.  First, I made Oreo truffles.  I shared that recipe months ago, but this time I added 4 tablespoons of peanut butter to the mixture.  Excellent addition!  I also made, for the first time, Almond Joy Truffles.  I always make one coconut-related thing for Christmas because not only is it one Matt’s favorites, it is also a favorite for my Uncle Bill.  These might become an every year must have; Matt said they were terrific.

Almond Joy Truffles

  • 5 cups sweetened flaked coconut
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • Pinch of salt
  • 8 ounces silvered almonds
  • 16 ounces milk chocolate
  • Spoonful of Crisco
  • White chocolate thinned with Crisco for drizzle

In a large bowl, combine coconut, powdered sugar, condensed milk, vanilla, salt, and almonds. Mix thoroughly.  Shape coconut mixture into 1-inch balls.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, or until firm.  Melt the chocolate and Crisco in the microwave on 50% power in 1 minute increments, stirring after each, until melted.  Dip the coconut balls into the melted chocolate and place on a wax paper lined baking sheet to set. Drizzle with white chocolate, if desired.

almond joy truffles

Leave a Reply

