Spinach Bacon Stuffed Potatoes

I am thankful that my husband is an adventurous eater, but…… Of course, you knew there was a but; he needs several items on his plate before he considers it a ‘complete meal’.  (He’s a big fan of those meat and three places.)  As a result, I typically make things like stuffed potatoes and one-pot meals when he is traveling.  If I put something like this Spinach Bacon Stuffed Potato in front of him, I’d get a response along these lines, “This looks great, but where is the rest of the meal?”

Over Christmas, I took the time to look through all my Food Network Magazines that had piled up, and I found lots of recipes to test out.  Getting the Food Network Magazine is such a treat, and I’d like to thank my mom for being so sweet about signing me up to receive it.

It is interesting how taste buds change.  Years ago, I wouldn’t have cooked half the recipes I now pick from the magazine.  These days I am a sucker for anything that has bacon and/or a soft-fried egg.  My dad will read this and think, “Since when?”  As a child (or teenager or young adult), I would have never eaten a soft-fried egg.  Now I find myself realizing I’d totally been missing out.  Of course, Gray has my childhood mentally of no soft-fried eggs, please.  But that’s ok, he too is an adventurous eater and was quite pleased when I put this stuffed potato (minus the egg) in front of him for dinner.

Spinach Bacon Stuffed Potato

Spinach Bacon Stuffed Potatoes

  • 4 small russet potatoes, baked
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 bunch scallions
  • 3 slices bacon
  • 8 cups packed baby spinach (about 8 ounces)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cup shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese (about 4 ounces)
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce, plus more for serving
  • 4 large eggs
Chop the bell pepper and scallions. Cook the bacon in the oven at 375 degrees until it reaches the desired crispness by placing it on a cookie sheet lined with foil.  I like mine extra crisp so I usually leave it in there for 30-40 minutes.  Drain on paper towel.  In a nonstick skillet sprayed with nonstick spray over medium heat, add the bell pepper and all but 1 tablespoon of the scallions to the skillet. Cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, 4 minutes. Add the spinach, season with salt and pepper and cook until wilted, 5 minutes. Transfer the vegetables to a bowl; reserve the skillet.
Split the potatoes and scoop out half of the flesh from each; stir into the vegetables along with the cheese, broth, hot sauce and all but 1 tablespoon of the bacon. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon back into the potatoes. Set on a baking sheet and bake 5 minutes.
Return the skillet to medium-high heat; crack the eggs into the pan and season with salt and pepper. Cook until the whites are set. Serve the eggs over the potatoes; top with the reserved scallions and bacon.
This recipe came from the December 2015 of the Food Network Magazine.  I modified the directions slightly as I always bake my bacon, and I omitted adding the bacon fat when sautéing the vegetables.
Leave a Reply

