Malted Crispy M&M Cookies

There’s a guy at our church that has been the usher for as long as we’ve been attending.  We see him every week, helping folks find a seat.  While we knew his face, we’d never spoken to him until a few months ago when we ran into him along with his granddaughter at Chick-fil-a.  His granddaughter recognized Gray, he recognized us too, and so we chatted.  Now when we see him ushering folks to a seat, we always wave and exchange a few kinds words.

About a month ago, an e-mail went out requesting meal sign ups for a family.  After Matt and I did some digging, we realized it was our usher friend’s wife.  It’s funny really.  We knew him.  We knew her.  We just didn’t realize they went together.   I tried to sign up to take a meal, but all the slots were already spoken for.  So I just showed up at church the following Sunday with food.  I figured if they didn’t need it right then, they could always put it in the freezer for a later date.

Two Sundays ago, I was asking about his wife.  He said while her treatment was going well, she’d been sick a lot, food didn’t really taste good, and she’d lost about 20 pounds.  When my mom was going through treatment for breast cancer, there was one thing that she could always eat — Chicken Barley Soup.  I told him I’d bring a batch the following Sunday.

I did.  I also included a loaf of my homemade bread, and a batch of these — Malted Crispy M&M Cookies.  My mom said sweets didn’t really taste good to her while she was undergoing treatment.  I told her the soup was for her, the bread for both of them, and the cookies were for him.  Cookies, even if for just a moment, always make you feel better.

Below is the recipe I used, courtesy of the polkadotchair.com.  Of course I made a few minor adjustments — I used bread flour instead of all-purpose flour.  I’ve been doing this for a while now with all my cookie recipes.  I just produces a softer and more cake-like cookie.  I also used an entire bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and an entire bag (the large size) of Crispy M&M’s.  I like a little cookie with my chocolate.

Malted Crispy M&M Cookies

1 C Butter Flavor Shortening
1 1/4 C Packed Brown Sugar
1/2 C Malted Milk Powder
2 T Chocolate Syrup
1 t Vanilla
1 Egg
2 C Flour
1 t Baking Soda
1/2 t Salt
1 1/2 C Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
1 C M&M’s® Crispy – about 2 2.8 oz packages

Instructions

In a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the first 5 ingredients in order. Beat 2 minutes. Add the egg and beat well. In a bowl mix together the dry ingredients. Add this to the ingredients in the mixer.

Add the chocolate chips and mix until just combine. Remove the bowl from the mixer and fold in the M&M’s® Crispy by hand.

Drop by spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet (or use a silicon liner or parchment paper). Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes. DO NOT over bake. I recommend checking the cookies at 8 minutes.  They will be lightly golden brown around the edges.  Cool on wire rack.

Crispy Malted M&M Cookies

And of course, I had to test them out on my QC Engineer before passing them along.  He gave them a two thumbs up.

Crispy Malted M&M Cookies Gray Eating

Leave a Reply

