7 Can Soup

Dump 7 cans into a pot and heat it up, how is that cooking?  I read the list of ingredients — can chili and Velveeta?  Really?  Those are definitely two items I don’t stock in my pantry.  I dismissed this recipe as soon as I saw it.

A few weeks ago I had gum graft surgery.  It was one of the most painful experiences I’ve ever had.  Let me just tell you how much it hurt — I believe it should be used as a method of torture.  Waterboarding has nothing on this.  Twenty-four hours of non-stop pain followed by three days where I looked like Richard Nixon and talked like Forest Gump’s friend, Bubba.  Complete torture.

Enter the 7 can soup recipe.  I’ve spent several weeks eating soft foods.  Day one was a milk shake.  Day two was mashed potatoes and chicken and noodles run through the blender.  I’ve had scrambled eggs, omelets, baked potatoes, and lots of ice cream.  A week after my surgery, I went to the doctor, and he took out a few stitches.  As I walked out the door, he said ‘soft foods for another week.’  Really?  I’m hungry.  I want something that has flavor and that I can sort of chew.

Afterward, I had to go to Wal-mart and pick up a prescription, so I purchased can chili and Velveeta, raided my cabinet for the rest of the ingredients, and I made this soup.  I have to admit, it was pretty good……I was surprised.

7 Can Soup

  • 1 can Meat-only Chili
  • 1 can 15-ounce Kidney Beans
  • 1 can (15 Ounce) Pinto Beans
  • 1 can (15 Oz. Size) Black Beans
  • 1 can 15-ounce Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 can (15-ounce) Corn (I Used Fiesta Variety)
  • 1 can (10 Ounce) Rotel
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 8 ounces, weight Velveeta, Cubed

Instructions

Without draining the cans, empty the corn, chili, kidney beans, pinto beans, black beans, tomatoes and tomatoes with green chilies into a large pot over high heat. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes to bring all the flavors together. Add salt and pepper as needed.

Dice the cheese and stir it into the soup until melted. Serve immediately.

7 can soup

This recipe came from The Pioneer Woman’s web site.

Leave a Reply

