Death by Chocolate Cake

Early on in the gum graft healing process, I discovered that chocolate cake was a soft food — or so I told my dentist.  With all the junk loaded on top and inside of this cake, I’d venture to say that this would not be considered soft food, and I doubt I would have been able to chew it a few weeks ago.  Lucky for me that my mouth is on the mend.  And while I haven’t been able to eat steak and I still have to use a fork and knife when I eat a sandwich, I had no problem with this cake.

It started out when I found this recipe for Ultimate Death by Chocolate Brownie Cake on Pinterest.

Here are the ingredients

  • Chocolate Cake Mix (plus the ingredients to make it)
  • Brownie Mix (plus the ingredients to make it)
  • 2 cans of Chocolate Fudge Frosting
  • 1 package Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Make the cake according to the directions on the box.  Pour the batter into two 8″ round pans sprayed with non-stick spray and lined with wax paper and bake according to the package directions.  Cool completely.

Make the brownie according to the directions on the box.  Pour the batter into one 8″ round pan sprayed with non-stick spray and lined with wax paper and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 25 minutes.  Keep an eye out as oven temperatures vary.  Cool completely.

To assemble, place a cake layer on the bottom of a cake plate, spread on a layer of frosting, and top with a handful of chocolate chips.  Next add the brownie layer, spread on a layer of frosting, and top with a handful of chocolate chips.  Place the cake layer on top and frost the entire cake.  On her cake, she sprinkled the whole thing (top and sides) with the remaining chocolate chips.

Now here’s where I went crazy.  In her directions, she mentions substituting chopped candy between the layers to change-up the flavor.  I started thinking about last year’s birthday cake and all the stuff we put on top of it.  Then I looked at the jar of candy on the counter —

candy jar

so full that the lid won’t sit on it properly.  This jar belonged to my grandparents.  My grandmother kept it sitting on their kitchen counter with graham crackers in it.  Years ago, my mom gave it to me, and now it sits on our kitchen counter filled with treats.  It’s one of a handful of things in our house that I absolutely cherish.  It’s funny — Gray knows how special it is, and he uses great care whenever he gets a treat from ‘the jar’.

Back to the cake.  Instead of topping it with chocolate chips, I selected my favorite candies from the jar, chopped them up, placed them on top of the cake, and drizzle the whole thing with melted chocolate chips!  Another Barbified dessert!

death by chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

