Take 5 Brownies

The day after school let out, Gray and I traveled to Indiana to see my parents for a few days and so that I could also run a 10 mile race.  Then we headed to Greensboro, North Carolina where we met up with Matt.  After staying there a few days, we went to the Outer Banks for vacation and back to Greensboro so Matt could work a bit more.  Then off to Asheville so I could run a half marathon only to leave right after that to head to Lexington, Kentucky to visit some family, finally ending up back in Indiana for a graduation party.  I felt like I’d been around the world.  We had a great time vacationing and seeing family and friends but I sure was happy to return to my own bed — and to my kitchen.  I’d grown weary of eating out.

After being home for two days, Matt had to head back to Greensboro so my days of meal cooking were short-lived.  But I’d missed my kitchen so I took to baking, and a matter of two days I’d made cookies, chocolate dipped payday bars, and these — Take 5 Brownies.  I was reminded of this candy bar when, before school let out, Gray decided to make one of those posters for his teacher where it used a combination of candy and words to tell a story.  Apparently, Take 5 candy bars are out of fashion in Columbia, Tennessee because I had to go to three different stores before finding some.  Given my love of layered brownies, I started wondering if there was a recipe out there for Take 5 Brownies.  After a quick search on Pinterest, I found this recipe, reviewed it, and then came up with this version:

Take 5 Brownies

Take 5 Brownies

  • Bake a batch of brownies in a 9 x 13 pan using the Baker’s One Bowl Brownie Recipe, omitting the pecans and adding in a cup of chocolate chips
  • Once the brownies have cooled, with a hand-held mixer, mix 1 cup crunchy peanut butter and 2/3 cup powder sugar.  Spread on top of brownies
  • Arrange 1 1/2 cups waffle pretzels in a single layer on top of the peanut butter mixture.
  • Sprinkle 1 cup milk chocolate chips on top of the pretzels.
  • In a microwave safe bowl, heat 2 tablespoons of heavy cream and 1 package of caramel bits on high for 90 seconds, then stir until smooth.  Pour caramel mixture over the top of the chocolate chip layer and let cool.
  • Finally, place 2 cups milk chocolate chips in a glass bowl.  Heat 1/4 cup heavy cream to almost boiling and then pour it over the chocolate chips.  Let it sit for 3 minutes.  Stir until smooth and then pour over the top of the caramel layer.  Let the ganache cool before slicing.

There you have it — Take 5 Brownies!

Take 5 brownies gray eating

 

One thought on “Take 5 Brownies

Leave a Reply

