Grandma’s Caramel Popcorn

It’s been a long time since my last post.  It’s not that I haven’t been cooking and taking photos; it’s just that I haven’t been making the time to sit down and write about it. I write blogs and do social media for four companies, and I get paid to do that.  I don’t get paid to do this blog, so the other stuff tends to take priority.  By the time I’m finished with the other stuff, I’m usually all written out.  But Wednesday my mom and I made something that reminded me of my childhood, and I simply had to share it.

Gray is on spring break both this week and next week.  We talked about going somewhere, but Matt is ‘testing out retirement’ and enjoying it a bit too much.  He’d been planning for some time to tear down his old shop and build a bigger, better barn, and now that dream is finally becoming a reality.

He’s so focused on working on building that I cannot seem to tear him away for even a few days, so Gray and I decided to visit my parents.  There we were, our last day before heading back to Tennessee, and I started working on my mom.  It was clear that I wanted something, so she finally just said, “Spit it out.  What do you want?”  “Will you make me some caramel corn?” I asked.  And so the adventure began.

Grandma Butler’s Caramel Popcorn

  • 3 quarts popped corn (the good stuff made on the stove)

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup karo syrup
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Cook the above ingredients to crackle or hardball stage, and it spins a thread.  Remove from the heat and add:

  • 2 teaspoons butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Pour over the popped corn and mix well.

And as we made it, we reminisced about how my grandma did it, never using a thermometer (of course, we did)…..testing for it to spin like thread, and always knowing when it was perfectly done.  The funniest part was that Gray had never had popcorn cooked on the stove with oil.  He liked that better than the actual caramel corn, which by the way, I ate my weight in.

As always, I could not leave well enough alone.  I had to put some on a cookie sheet and drizzle it with melted milk and white chocolate.  I’m pretty sure my grandma wouldn’t mind.

And Matt Mitchell, your half is not at the bottom of the container.

Leave a Reply

