Peanut Butter Eggs

I’ve decided to continue on with the egg theme, and as much as I like farm fresh eggs — I like these kind of eggs even better!  I’ve always had an obsession with Reese’s Peanut Butter eggs; in fact, when I was in college I would buy several packages at a time and then hide them in a shoe box in the back of my closet so that my roommate wouldn’t find them.  Please don’t judge me; I have issues.

The first recipe, which I have since thrown away so I can’t even share it with you, called for brown sugar, vanilla, and flour in the peanut butter mixture.  The photos were beautiful, so I decided to make them.  Disappointing.  All you could taste was the brown sugar, plus the texture was off.  Looking back, I should have known not to use that one.  My mom and I make buckeyes every Christmas, and we simply used melted butter, peanut butter, and confectioners sugar, so I just applied that logic to this.  The best part of making them into the egg shape is that they are much larger!  My philosophy is that I’m only going to eat one, so it better be the biggest and best one that there is!

Peanut Butter Eggs

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 bag milk chocolate chips
  • Vegetable oil
Leave a Reply

