Baptism Cake

A few weeks ago, Gray was baptized by Matt’s dad.

But before we scheduled the event, we had to make sure everyone could attend — my parents, my sister and her family, Matt’s parents, Matt’s sister and her family, and Matt’s brother.  This was important because, according to Gray, there needed to be a party afterwards.  I had to agree; if ever a boy deserved a party, it was after being baptized.  And there had to be cake…..and cupcakes…..and Kaysie had to make them.  I was surprised he didn’t ask for chicken pot pie too.  No worries there either, his Papaw showed up with one.

The day prior, Kaysie arrived with her mom and dad prepared to get to work.  I baked the cupcakes and cakes earlier in the day so that they would be cooled and ready for her to decorate.  It was an all afternoon affair, and Gray was in and out of the kitchen, making suggestions, and of course, testing the product.

Kaysie and my mom have become experts at cake decorating.  They took a class together last summer (I think), and now they tackle all kinds of cake projects together.  They make a great team, and they both swear by the Wilton Buttercream Icing recipe when it comes to decorating cakes.

Check out the final product.

It was a day of celebrating with good food, family, and lots of cake.  The boy was floating on air.

And when it was bedtime, I sent him upstairs to take a shower.  “But I don’t want to wash it off,” he replied.  Oh the sweetness of that moment with my 10 year old boy will last me a lifetime.

 

Leave a Reply

